3rd Sunday of Advent, Year B (Gaudete Sunday): Reflection by Fr Julian Ekeh

Aria Fresca
5 min readDec 16, 2023

--

Theme: TESTIMONY OF GREAT REJOICING

(John 1:6–8.19–28)

Today is the third Sunday of Advent. Liturgically, it is known as the Gaudete Sunday. This Latin word is the very first word of today’s entrance antiphon drawn from the letter of St Paul to the Philipians (4:4–5). In that antiphon, St. Paul called upon the people in the following words: “Rejoice in the Lord always; again, I say rejoice. Indeed, the Lord is near.”

This is not a mere call. It is not just an invitation. It is not an appeal. The word “gaudete” is a command. It is not optional. It is a second person plural active imperative of “gaudeo”- Rejoice.

As the celebration of the coming of the Lord draws near, the Church encourages us to anticipate in joyful hope. The tone of the expectation changes for good. The light can be seen, and the night is coming to an end. The labour time will soon be over, and the favourable time is at hand. Thus, the command to rejoice and the expected response: “I will greatly rejoice in the Lord…”

In this rejoicing, we are to live prayerfully, giving thanks at all times, abstaining from evil, and believing that we have a faithful God who never fails. He will certainly decorate us with reasons to rejoice. Let us mourn less and believe that the future is bright.

BECOMING A TESTIMONY OF UNSPEAKABLE JOY

The Gospel of today tells us about a certain man. His name is John. He is a man like us. He was human. He lived in a world like ours.

But there was something spectacular about him. He came for a purpose. He came for testimony, to bear witness to the light, and that all might believe through him.

This is interesting. In a world of darkness, he stood bearing testimony to the light. In a world crippled by hopelessness, he proclaims the message of hope. In a world where faces are covered with darkness, he releases joy. In a society where people are hiding their faces in shame, he makes them put their trust in the Lord, who will not allow them to be put to shame. He was never ashamed of doing good and speaking good out. We are mandated to make people believe in the joy of the Lord as the only source of our strength. In what do you derive your own joy? Rejoice in the Lord is the command.

TESTIMONY OF JOY THAT ATTRACTS QUESTIONS

The question asked today to John the Baptist was: who are you?

This question must have been triggered by the zeal and the unspeakable joy in the Lord, with which John worked and lived his life.

His life started evoking wonder among the people. They must have wondered that secret of his rejoicing. They must have pondered on the reason behind his passion, conviction, and actions.

When the Lord is the secret of your joy, people may ask you: who are you that even in the hardship, temptations, difficulties, strikes, nonpayment of salaries and arrears, you are still living well? Who are you that after the sickness, heartbreak, misfortunes, distress, and persecutions, you refuse to give up, but still, thanks God? Who are you that still puts on smile upon all you have been through? Who are you that calmly tolerates insults, humiliations, lies against you, and yet moves on with life?

People will certainly wonder about the secret of your joy. O yes, they will. They wondered why he was happy and working for the Lord even without food on his table. They couldn’t believe that he stood proudly without inferiority complex even while wearing rags.

These Jews who came inquiring about John wore good regalia, but they saw a man who was rejoicing because the Lord had clothed him with garments of salvation.

Is it possible to be this happy without money, fame, and other possessions? John’s life testified: Yes, It is possible! Then they thought he must be divine. But he confessed that He wasn’t Christ, nor Elijah nor any of the prophets.

He accepted only to be the voice crying in the desert for all to prepare. Let us heed this voice and repent. Let us heed the command of this voice and remain joyful and enthusiastic about the Lord’s coming.

ACCEPTING THE COMMAND TO REJOICE

As we have noted, it is not optional for us to rejoice. The Lord wants us compulsorily to be joyful in him. To live in this joy, we’ve got to live positive and speak joy into our lives in the following ways:

THE LORD HAS SAID IT, I MUST REJOICE

This is not just a word to be uttered carelessly but a disposition to be lived out convincingly. No one can steal my joy. No situation can take away my love for God. Nothing will make me lose focus of what I am expecting from the Lord. Eternal life is my final end. I must overcome every force; human, satanic, or emotional, saying the opposite of what God had said concerning my life.

I REFUSE TO BE UNHAPPY

As we are commanded to rejoice the enemy of our joy commands otherwise. He commands us to be unhappy, to be sad, to be frustrated, to cry. He wants us to get distracted, lose the joy of the Lord’s coming, and focus on unnecessary things and side attractions. I refuse to base my joy on the size of my bank account. I refuse to build my happiness on what I will receive this period. I refuse to rejoice in frivolities. I refuse to live a fake life. I refuse to derive joy in makeup. I refuse to carry my worries and sorrows on my face. I refuse to bear testimony to life without peace. I refuse to live in sin. I refuse to joke with my prayer life. I refuse to be afraid.

THE TESTIMONY

The Lord is my joy and my salvation. The Lord’s coming is near. When He comes, I will not remain the same. I am hopeful that things will get better. Am certain I shall not die. I must live to testify the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Even when my physical eye sees no reason to rejoice may I say with Habakkuk: “Even if the fig tree doesn’t blossom, and there are no grapes on the vines, even if the olive harvest fails, and the fields produce no food, though the flock be lost from the fold, and the herd be gone from the stalls, yet in Yahweh will I rejoice, in God, my saviour, will I exult (Habakkuk 3:17–18).

Let the joy of the Lord drive you on as you wait for the Lord’s coming.

May God bless His word in our hearts.

LET US PRAY

Thank You, Lord, for bidding me, rejoice. Thank you for the holy command for me to be glad in you no matter what the enemy says. May I, gladly, prayerfully and enthusiastically wait for your coming in great joy. May I sustain the spirit of advent and enjoy fully the joy of the incarnation of our Lord, who lives and reigns forever and ever. Amen

Happy Gaudete Sunday (Advent, Week 3, Yr B)

Rev Fr Julian O Ekeh

--

--

Aria Fresca

Io Sono Chima Isaac Chinemerem, un sacerdote dell’arcidiocesi Cattolica di Owerri, Nigeria. Io studio Comunicazione nella Università della Santa Croce, Roma.